Skip Navigation

Your Environment. Your Health.

Genes, Environment, and Health Branch (GEH)

Cindy Lawler
Cindy Lawler, Ph.D.
Branch Chief
Tel 919-316-4671
Fax 919-541-5064
lawler@niehs.nih.gov
P.O. Box 12233
Mail Drop K3-15
Durham, N.C. 27709

About GEH

  • Addresses the fundamental mechanisms by which environmental exposures combine with genetic susceptibility to influence risk of complex human diseases and disorders.
  • Builds on evolving knowledge in the fields of genomics and epigenomics to understand mechanisms that act at the interface of genes and environment to influence gene activity and phenotype.
  • Emphasizes laboratory-based studies in model systems at the cellular, organ and system level.
  • In 2012, with the help of our stakeholders, NIEHS completed a new strategic plan that identified the institute’s priority research areas through 2017. The GEH goals align broadly with the following strategic plan goals:
    • Goal 1: Fundamental Mechanisms/Pathways
    • Goal 7: Knowledge Management

Associated Programs

Staff

Lisa Helbling Chadwick
Lisa H. Chadwick, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Tel 919-491-4702
lisa.chadwick@nih.gov
Duncan, Christopher
Christopher G. Duncan, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Tel 919-541-4476
christopher.duncan@nih.gov
Amanda Garton
Amanda E. Garton
Health Specialist

Tel 919-541-1874
amanda.garton@nih.gov
Astrid Haugen
Astrid C. Haugen
Health Specialist
Summer Supplement Program Administrator

Tel 919-541-4415
haugen@niehs.nih.gov
Jonathan Hollander
Jonathan A. Hollander, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Tel 919-541-9467
jonathan.hollander@nih.gov
Michael C. Humble
Mike Humble, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Basic Science

Tel 919-316-4621
humble@niehs.nih.gov
Kimberly A. McAllister, Ph.D.
Kimberly McAllister, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Tel 919-541-4528
Fax 919-316-4606
mcallis2@niehs.nih.gov
Frederick L. Tyson
Fred Tyson, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Tel 919-541-0176
Fax 919-564-5064
tyson2@niehs.nih.gov