Skip Navigation

Your Environment. Your Health.

Scientists & Staff

Neurobiology Laboratory

Chief

Jerrel L. Yakel, Ph.D.
Jerry Yakel, Ph.D.
Chief, Neurobiology Laboratory and Principal Investigator

Tel 984-287-3466
Fax 301-480-3483
yakel@niehs.nih.gov

Deputy Chief

Serena M. Dudek, Ph.D.
Serena M. Dudek, Ph.D.
Deputy Chief, Neurobiology Laboratory and Principal Investigator

Tel 919-541-3275
Fax 301-480-3483
dudek@niehs.nih.gov

Developmental Neurobiology Group

Patricia Jensen, Ph.D.
Patricia Jensen, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator

Tel 919-541-0379
patricia.jensen@nih.gov
Yu-Wei Chen
Yu-Wei Chen, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA Postdoctoral

Tel 919-541-7868
yu-wei.chen@nih.gov
Nicholas Plummer, Ph.D.
Nick Plummer, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist

Tel 984-287-3420
plummer@niehs.nih.gov
Jeanne Powell
Jeanne M. Powell
Fellow — IRTA Postbaccalaureate

Tel 919-541-7868
jeanne.powell@nih.gov
Natale R. Sciolino, Ph.D.
Natale R. Sciolino, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA Postdoctoral

Tel 919-316-4808
natale.sciolino@nih.gov
Katie Smith
Kathleen G. Smith
Biologist

Tel 919-541-4706
kathleen.smith2@nih.gov

In Vivo Neurobiology Group

Guohong Cui
Guohong Cui, M.D., Ph.D.
Principal Investigator

Tel 919-541-0133
Fax 301-480-3483
cuig@mail.nih.gov
Jason Cook
Jason B. Cook, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA

Tel 984-287-3407
jason.cook@nih.gov
Christopher Mazzone
Christopher M. Mazzone, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA

Tel 919-541-7568
christopher.mazzone@nih.gov
Chengbo Meng
Chengbo Meng, Ph.D.
Fellow — Visiting

Tel 919-541-0917
chengbo.meng@nih.gov
Amy B. Papaneri
Amy B. Papaneri, M.S.
Biologist

Tel 984-287-3410
amy.papaneri@nih.gov
Jingheng Zhou
Jingheng Zhou, Ph.D.
Fellow — Visiting

Tel 984-287-3412
jingheng.zhou@nih.gov

Ion Channel Physiology Group

Jerrel L. Yakel, Ph.D.
Jerry Yakel, Ph.D.
Chief, Neurobiology Laboratory and Principal Investigator

Tel 984-287-3466
Fax 301-480-3483
yakel@niehs.nih.gov
Qing Cheng, Ph.D.
Qing Cheng, Ph.D.
Fellow — Research

Tel 984-287-3460
qing.cheng@nih.gov
Joanne C. Damborsky
Joanne C. Damborsky, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA

Tel 984-287-3457
joanne.damborsky@nih.gov
Bernd Gloss, Ph.D.
Bernd R. Gloss, Ph.D.
Biologist

Tel 984-287-3473
bernd.gloss@nih.gov
Zhenglin Gu, Ph.D.
Zhenglin Gu, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist

Tel 984-287-3461
guz@niehs.nih.gov
Juhee Haam
Juhee Haam, Ph.D.
Fellow — Research

Tel 984-287-3458
juhee.haam@nih.gov
Pattie Lamb
Patricia W. Lamb
Biologist

Tel 984-287-3462
Fax 301-480-3483
lamb1@niehs.nih.gov
Simone Otto
Simone L. Otto, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA

Tel 984-287-3459
simone.otto@nih.gov

Neuropharmacology Group

Jau-Shyong Hong, Ph.D.
Jau-Shyong Hong, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator

Tel 919-541-2358
Fax 919-541-0841
hong3@niehs.nih.gov
Shih-Heng (David) Chen
David Chen, Ph.D.
Contractor — Scientist

Tel 984-287-3441
chens3@niehs.nih.gov
Huiming Gao, Ph.D.
Huiming Gao, M.D., Ph.D.
Special Volunteer

Tel 919-541-5162
huiming.gao@nih.gov
Yun Gao
Yun Gao
Special Volunteer

Tel 919-541-2358
yun.gao@nih.gov
Jerry Liu
Jerry J. Liu, Ph.D.
Special Volunteer

Tel 919-541-5145
jerry.liu2@nih.gov
Yosuke Sakamachi
Yosuke Sakamachi, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA

Tel 984-287-3431
yosuke.sakamachi@nih.gov
Sheng Song
Sheng Song, Ph.D.
Fellow — Visiting

Tel 984-287-3432
sheng.song@nih.gov
Dezhen Tu
Dezhen Tu
Fellow — Visiting

Tel 919-541-5200
dezhen.tu@nih.gov
Yubao Wang
Yubao Wang, Ph.D.
Fellow — Visiting

Tel 919-541-5203
yubao.wang@nih.gov
Not Pictured
Belinda C. Wilson
Biologist

Tel 984-287-3423
wilson3@niehs.nih.gov
Lu Zhang
Lu Zhang, Ph.D.
Special Volunteer

Tel 919-541-5203
lu.zhang3@nih.gov
Zhan Zhao
Zhan Zhao, Ph.D.
Special Volunteer

Tel 919-541-5219
zhan.zhao@nih.gov
Ran Zhou
Ran Zhou, Ph.D.
Special Volunteer

Tel 919-541-5223
ran.zhou@nih.gov

Synaptic & Developmental Plasticity Group

Serena M. Dudek, Ph.D.
Serena M. Dudek, Ph.D.
Deputy Chief, Neurobiology Laboratory and Principal Investigator

Tel 919-541-3275
Fax 301-480-3483
dudek@niehs.nih.gov
Georgia M. Alexander, Ph.D.
Georgia M. Alexander, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist

Tel 919-316-4834
Fax 919-541-4611
georgia.alexander@nih.gov
Logan Y. Brown
Logan Y. Brown
Fellow — IRTA Predoctoral

Tel 919-541-0221
logan.brown@nih.gov
Kelly E. Carstens
Kelly E. Carstens
Fellow — IRTA Predoctoral

Tel 919-316-4920
kelly.carstens@nih.gov
Shannon L. Farris
Shannon L. Farris, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA Postdoctoral

Tel 919-541-4304
shannon.farris@nih.gov
Headshot of Thomas Helton
Thomas D. Helton, Ph.D.
Fellow — Research

Tel 984-287-3504
thomas.helton@nih.gov
Kathleen McCann
Katharine E. McCann, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA Postdoctoral

Tel 984-287-3507
katharine.mccann@nih.gov
Radzicki, Daniel
Daniel Radzicki, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA Postdoctoral

Tel 919-316-4819
daniel.radzicki@nih.gov
Emma K. Shaughnessy
Emma K. Shaughnessy
Fellow — IRTA Baccalaureate

Tel 919-541-0221
emma.shaughnessy@nih.gov
Meilan Zhao, Ph.D.
Meilan Zhao, Ph.D.
Biologist

Tel 984-287-3508
zhao3@niehs.nih.gov