Skip Navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Your Environment. Your Health.

Committees and Scientific Interest Groups

IMACS Committees

IMACS Scientific Committee:

This committee will review research proposals of studies that would involve the participation of IMACS members, as well as publications involving IMACS/its members prior to their submission (including appropriate authorship). This committee will also suggest future scientific directions and new studies for IMACS to embark upon. For further information about IMACS Scientific and Publication Policies, which are administered by the Scientific Committee, see Scientific/Publication Policies.

Current Scientific Committee members are:

  • Rohit Aggarwal (Chair)
  • Sonya Danoff (Vice Chair)
  • Dana Ascherman (Past Chair)
  • Olivier Benveniste
  • Robert Cooper
  • Katalin Danko
  • David Isenberg
  • Susan Kim
  • Andrew Mammen
  • Frederick Miller
  • Chester Oddis
  • Lauren Pachman
  • Adam Schiffenbauer

IMACS Meeting Planning Committee:

This committee will plan and organize the annual IMACS meetings and will also suggest proposals for other meetings, such as presentations at the American College of Rheumatology Myositis Study Group.

Current Meeting Planning Committee members are:

  • Lesley Ann Saketkoo (Chair)
  • Bianca Lang (Vice Chair)
  • Mary Cronin
  • Rodolfo Curiel
  • Floranne Ernste
  • Liza McCann
  • Julie Paik
  • Lisa Rider (Past Chair)
  • Helga Sanner
  • Annet van Royen-Kerkhof
  • Jiri Vencovsky
  • Elizabeth Volkmann

IMACS Committee Procedures:

New committee members will be solicited from the entire IMACS Group and the entire IMACS Group will vote on the selection of new committee members. Members of committees may serve a term of up to 3 years duration that may be renewed one time, provided that the majority of committee members agree to the renewal. Following formation of a new committee, 1/3 of the members will rotate off after 2 years of service, 1/3 after 3 years of service and 1/3 after 4 years of service, to provid a staggered rotation of committee members. Each committee may also have a fellow member, who will also undergo election to the committee and serve up to 2 years. At least one IMACS Coordinator or Administrator will be permanently assigned to each IMACS Committee, but they may rotate between committees periodically. A committee member may be asked to resign for failure to meet deadlines or if not actively participating in the committee's work for more than 6 months.

Each committee will have a Chair, Vice Chair and Past Chair, who shall be appointed from within each committee to serve a 2-year appointment. The Vice Chair would serve as the Acting Chair when the Chair is not available. These posts are renewable for one additional two year term, determined by the majority of committee members. When the Chair's appointment ends, the Vice Chair would serve as the new committee Chair for a 2 year period, and the outgoing Chair will serve as the Past-Chair for a 2-year appointment. At that time, a new Vice Chair will be elected.

IMACS Scientific Interest Groups

Rehabilitation and Exercise Group

This group is devoted to studying the effect of exercise therapy and rehabilitation on the disease and vice versa in juvenile and adult myositis. To this end, the group is currently focused on developing and validating measures for fatigue and endurance, muscle strength testing, and functional testing for juvenile and adult myositis that can be used as endpoints in such studies.

Current Rehabilitation and Exercise Special Interest Group leaders include:

  • Sue Maillard (Chair)
  • Helene Alexanderson (Vice Chair)
  • Marco van Brussel (Past Chair)

International Classification of Diseases

  • Adam Schiffenbauer (Chair)

Calcinosis in Juvenile and Adult Dermatomyositis

  • Lorinda Chung (Chair)

Myositis Autoantibodies

  • Neil McHugh (Chair)

Extension of SHARE consensus for management of JDM

  • Susan Kim (Chair)

Procedures for an IMACS Scientific Interest Group

Members of an IMACS Scientific Interest Group are small focus groups centered around a particular topic of interest for myositis researchers. All members of IMACS are eligible to join a special interest group, and its members may serve unlimited terms. Groups meet remotely and/or in person at least twice annually, and report on their progress annually at the IMACS business meeting and in the newsletter. When a group develops a formal scientific project, they then apply to the IMACS Scientific Committee for approval. Groups have a chair, vice chair and past chair, and more than one individual may serve in any of these roles. Leadership positions are of 2 years duration, and renewable for a second 2 year term, and elected by the members of the Interest Group.

to Top