Skip Navigation

Your Environment. Your Health.

Population Health Branch (PHB)

Claudia Thompson
Claudia Thompson, Ph.D.
Branch Chief
Population Health Branch

Tel 919-541-4638
Fax 919-541-4937
thompso1@niehs.nih.gov

About PHB

The Population Health Branch (PHB) supports diverse programs in population-based, laboratory-based, and community-engaged research related to environmental exposures and their effects on human health. Our goal is to stimulate translation of basic findings into public health and clinical intervention and prevention strategies. Our portfolio includes:

  • Epidemiological studies to examine individual and population susceptibility as broadly determined by environmental, genetic, behavioral and sociocultural factors.
  • Animal and cell-based studies to understand how timing of environmental exposures effects health outcomes.
  • Community-based research as it relates to environmental health disparities, environmental justice, and multi-directional communication.

The PHB programs align broadly with the following NIEHS strategic plan goals: 

  • Goal 2: Susceptibility across the Lifespan
  • Goal 6: Environmental Health Disparities
  • Goal 11: Communication

Associated Programs

Staff

Not Pictured
Martha Barnes
Program Analyst

Tel 984-287-3235
barnes@niehs.nih.gov
Abee Boyles, Ph.D.
Abee Boyles, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Tel 984-287-3241
abee.boyles@nih.gov
Symma Finn, Ph.D.
Symma Finn, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Tel 919-541-4258
symma.finn@nih.gov
Kimberly Ann Gray
Kimberly Gray, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Tel 919-541-0293
gray6@niehs.nih.gov
Bonnie R. Joubert, Ph.D.
Bonnie R. Joubert, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Epidemiology

Tel 984-287-3276
bonnie.joubert@nih.gov
Not Pictured
Linette D. Mines
Extramural Support Assistant

Tel 984-287-3293
linette.mines@nih.gov
Liam R. O'Fallon
Liam O'Fallon, M.A.
Health Specialist

Tel 984-287-3298
Fax 919-316-4606
ofallon@niehs.nih.gov
Thaddeus Schug, Ph.D.
Thaddeus T. Schug, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Tel 984-287-3319
schugt2@niehs.nih.gov