Skip Navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.

Https

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Your Environment. Your Health.

Office of the Division Director

Extramural Research & Training

David M. Balshaw. Ph.D.
David Balshaw, Ph.D.
Acting Director, Division of Extramural Research and Training

Tel 984-287-3234
balshaw@niehs.nih.gov

David Balshaw is the Acting Director of the Division of Extramural Research and Training while a national search for a permanent Director is underway; his position of reference is as the Chief of the Exposure, Response, and Technology Branch in the Division.

David is a biophysicist by training with a Ph.D. from the Department of Pharmacology and Cellular Biophysics at the University of Cincinnati and post-doctoral training in the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at the University of North Carolina. He joined NIH as a Program Officer at the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute in 2001 and moved to NIEHS in 2003. Over nearly two decades he has led several high impact programs at NIEHS and NIH particularly in the areas of ‘omics technologies and is an international leader in the field of exposomics.

With the participation and concurrence of senior leadership of NIEHS, the Division of Extramural Research and Training (DERT) develops program priorities to assure maximum utilization of available resources in attainment of the objectives stated in the NIEHS Strategic Plan. By collaborating with other institutes at NIH, other federal agencies, and public and private institutions and organizations, DERT staff maintain an awareness of national and international research efforts and priorities, and identify new opportunities for collaborative research and training initiatives involving the environmental health sciences.

Staff

J. Patrick Mastin, Ph.D.
James P. Mastin, Ph.D.
Deputy Director, Division of Extramural Research and Training

Tel 984-287-3285
Fax 919-541-2843
mastin@niehs.nih.gov
Jennifer Baker
Jennifer A. Baker
Program Specialist

Tel 984-287-3188
jennifer.baker2@nih.gov
Helena Bonner
Helena M. Bonner
Administrative Officer

Tel 984-287-3239
Fax 919-316-4694
bonnerh@niehs.nih.gov
Joel Collinson
Joel D. Collinson
Program Specialist

Tel 919-324-6842
joel.collinson@nih.gov
Lynch, Leslie
Leslie D. Lynch
Management Analyst

Tel 984-287-3797
lynch2@niehs.nih.gov
Fine, Katherine
Katherine A. McGinnis
Administrative Officer

Tel 984-287-3289
katherine.mcginnis@nih.gov
Liz McMillan
Elizabeth McMillan
Administrative Specialist

Tel 984-287-3290
Fax 919-541-0462
mcmillae@niehs.nih.gov
Liz McNair
Liz McNair
Program Analyst

Tel 984-287-3291
Fax 301-480-3225
mcnair1@niehs.nih.gov
Rosemary Moody
Rosemary Moody, M.P.P.
Program Specialist

Tel 984-287-3294
rosemary.moody@nih.gov
Mitsue Parrish
Mitsue M. Parrish
Administrative Officer

Tel 984-287-3301
Fax 919-316-4694
parrish2@niehs.nih.gov
Nicole Popovich
Nicole M. Popovich
Management Analyst

Tel 984-287-3306
nicole.popovich@nih.gov
Tina Powell
Tina L. Powell
Staff Assistant

Tel 984-287-3307
tina.powell@nih.gov
Angela W. (Angie) Sanders
Angela W. Sanders
Team Lead, DERT

Tel 984-287-3316
sanders5@niehs.nih.gov
Back
to Top