Skip Navigation

Your Environment. Your Health.

Exposure, Response, and Technology Branch (ERTB)

David M. Balshaw. Ph.D.
David Balshaw, Ph.D.
Branch Chief
Exposure, Response, and Technology Branch
Tel 919-541-2448
Fax 919-541-4937
balshaw@niehs.nih.gov
P.O. Box 12233
Mail Drop K3-04
Durham, N.C. 27709

 

About ERTB

  • Addresses the relationship between environmental exposures and biological response.
  • Emphasizes integrative exposure research for which there is a link to chronic complex diseases.
  • Builds on systems biology and technology-driven biomarker development and application.
  • Develops approaches to address exposure–pathway–disease relationships. In 2012, with the help of our stakeholders, NIEHS completed a new strategic plan that identified the institute’s priority research areas through 2017. The ERTB goals align broadly with the following strategic plan goals:
    • Goal 1: Fundamental Research
    • Goal 3: Exposure Science
NIH invests almost $32 million to increase utility of biomedical research data

NIEHS contributes to Big Data to Knowledge (BD2K) initiative that supports development of new approaches, software, tools, and training programs.

 

Associated Programs

Staff

Jennifer Collins
Jennifer B. Collins
Health Specialist

Tel 919-541-0117
collins6@niehs.nih.gov
Yuxia Cui, Ph.D.
Yuxia Cui, Ph.D.
Contractor — Program Analyst

Tel 919-316-4756
yuxia.cui@nih.gov
Srikanth Nadadur, Ph.D.
Sri Nadadur, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Tel 919-541-5327
Fax 919-541-0462
nadadurs@niehs.nih.gov
Lingamanaidu (Ravi) Ravichandran
Lingamanaidu V. Ravichandran, Ph.D.
Health Specialist

Tel 919-541-2933
lingamanaidu.ravichandran@nih.gov
Leslie J. Reinlib, Ph.D.
Les Reinlib, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator
Program Director

Tel 919-541-4998
Fax 919-316-4606
reinlib@niehs.nih.gov
Daniel Shaughnessy, Ph.D.
Daniel T. Shaughnessy, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Tel 919-541-2506
Fax 919-541-0146
shaughn1@niehs.nih.gov
Carol A. Shreffler
Carol A. Shreffler, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Tel 919-541-1445
shreffl1@niehs.nih.gov