Skip Navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.

Https

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Your Environment. Your Health.

Communications & Public Liaison

The Office of Communications & Public Liaison is the first source of news and information about the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS). The communications team provides a broad range of services to support the Institute's ground-braking biomedical research, and to share its discoveries with Members of Congress, local governments, public health officials, the media, and communities throughout the world.

Key services provided:


Christine Bruske Flowers
Christine Flowers, M.A.
Director, Office of Communications and Public Liaison
Tel 919-541-3665
Fax 301-480-2978
bruskec@niehs.nih.gov
P.O. Box 12233
Mail Drop B2-05
Durham, N.C. 27709

Christine Bruske Flowers joined the NIEHS in 2004. Previously she led communications and outreach activities for other federal government programs including the U.S. Department of the Interior International Affairs Program, and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers environmental restoration programs. Flowers also served as Director of Communications and Legislative Affairs for the North Carolina House of Representatives, and Director of Public Relations for the U.S. House of Representatives in North Carolina's Fourth Congressional District. Flowers is a veteran of the U.S. Army Medical Specialty Corps. She holds an M.A. in Public Affairs Journalism from Regent University and a B.S. in Biology from North Carolina State University.

Communications and Public Liaison Staff

Robin Arnette, Ph.D.
Robin L. Arnette, Ph.D.
Science Editor

Tel 919-541-5143
arnetter@niehs.nih.gov
Virginia Guidry
Virginia T. Guidry, Ph.D.
Science News Director

Tel 919-541-1993
virginia.guidry@nih.gov
Lenox, Kelly
Kelly L. Lenox, M.F.A.
Newsletter Editor in Chief

Tel 984-287-3281
kelly.lenox@nih.gov
Joseph D. Poccia
Joseph D. Poccia
Digital Design Manager

Tel 984-287-3305
joseph.poccia@nih.gov
Devlin Sawyer
Devlin Sawyer, MBA
Administrative Technician

Tel 984-287-3776
devlin.sawyer@nih.gov
Sheena Scruggs
Sheena Scruggs, Ph.D.
Digital Content Coordinator

Tel 984-287-3355
sheena.scruggs@nih.gov
Regina Stabile
Regina J. Stabile, J.D.
FOIA Public Liaison and Privacy Act Coordinator

Tel 984-287-3324
regina.stabile@nih.gov
Ian Thomas
Ian V. Thomas
Public Information Officer, Social Media

Tel 984-287-3327
ian.thomas@nih.gov
Cheryl Thompson, M.B.A.
Cheryl R. Thompson, MBA
Web Manager

Tel 984-287-3329
Fax 301-480-3250
thompsonc2@niehs.nih.gov
Anne Thompson
Anne M. Thompson
Copy Editor, Print Graphics Coordinator

Tel 984-287-3196
thomps13@niehs.nih.gov

Science Editorial Services

Marla Broadfoot
Marla V. Broadfoot, Ph.D.
Contractor — Science Writer & Editor

Tel 984-287-3355
marla.broadfoot@nih.gov

NH conference booth
NIEHS conference booth
Back
to Top