Skip Navigation

Your Environment. Your Health.

Communications & Public Liaison

The Office of Communications & Public Liaison is the first source of news and information about the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS), and the Institute's important biomedical research and funding programs. The communications team handles media requests, inquiries from the scientific community, as well as internal communication activities.  News releases, Brochures & Fact Sheets and science education materials, videos, web pages, exhibits, tours and presentations are available from the OCPL resources and staff.

Key services provided:  

 


Christine Bruske Flowers
Christine Bruske Flowers, M.P.A.
Director, Office of Communications & Public Liaison
Tel (919) 541-3665
Fax (919) 541-2260
bruskec@niehs.nih.gov
P.O. Box 12233
Mail Drop B2-02
Research Triangle Park, North Carolina 27709
Delivery Instructions

Christine Bruske Flowers joined the NIEHS in 2004. Previously she led communications and outreach activities for other federal government programs including the U.S. Department of the Interior International Affairs Program, and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers environmental restoration programs. Flowers also served as Director of Communications and Legislative Affairs for the North Carolina House of Representatives, and Director of Public Relations for the U.S. House of Representatives in North Carolina's Fourth Congressional District. Flowers is a veteran of the U.S. Army Medical Specialty Corps. She holds an M.A. in Public Affairs Journalism from Regent University and a B.S. in Biology from North Carolina State University.

You can find us on: Facebook, Twitter, Flickr, and YouTube Facebook Twitter Flickr YouTube

 

Communications and Public Liaison Staff

News Media Relations

Robin Mackar, M.P.H.
Robin Mackar, M.P.H.
News Director
Tel (919) 541-0073
Fax (301) 480-3226
rmackar@niehs.nih.gov
Joe Balintfy
Joe Balintfy
Public Affairs Specialist

Tel (919) 541-1993
balintfyj@mail.nih.gov

Public Information, Education and Outreach

Ian Thomas
Ian Thomas
Public Affairs Specialist

Tel (919) 541-4794
thomasiv@niehs.nih.gov


Web Manager

Cheryl Thompson, M.B.A.
Cheryl Thompson, M.B.A.
Web Manager

Tel (919) 541-1072
Fax (301) 480-3250
thompsonc2@niehs.nih.gov

Joseph D. Poccia
Joseph D. Poccia
Web Information Development Specialist

Tel (919) 541-7860
joseph.poccia@nih.gov


Newsletter Editor

Lenox, Kelly
Kelly L. Lenox
Writer Editor

Tel (919) 541-0222
kelly.lenox@nih.gov

Default Alt Text
Ralph (Eddy) Ball, Ph.D.
Writer (Contractor)

Tel (919) 541-4816
ballr@niehs.nih.gov


Science Writer/Editor

Robin Arnette, Ph.D.
Robin Arnette, Ph.D.
Science Editor
Tel (919) 541-5143
arnetter@niehs.nih.gov

Program Support

Default Alt Text
Anne M. Thompson
Program Support

Tel (919) 316-4517
thomps13@niehs.nih.gov

Program Specialist

Allison Eason
Allison Eason
Program Specialist
Tel (919) 541-0378
allison.eason@nih.gov

Freedom of Information Act/Privacy Act

Kim Minneman
Kim Minneman
Freedom of Information Act Coordinator
Tel (919) 541-3411
minneman@niehs.nih.gov

Written Inquiries

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
P.O. Box 12233, MD K3-16
Research Triangle Park, North Carolina 27709-2233
Fax (919) 541-4395

Back to Top