Skip Navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.

Https

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Your Environment. Your Health.

Communications & Public Liaison

Written Inquiries

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
Tel 919-541-3345
Fax 919-541-4395
P.O. Box 12233, Mail Drop K3-16
Research Triangle Park, North Carolina USA 27709

The Office of Communications & Public Liaison is the first source of news and information about the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS). The communications team provides a broad range of services to support the institute's ground-breaking biomedical research, and to share its discoveries with Members of Congress, local governments, public health officials, the media, and communities throughout the world.

Christine Bruske Flowers
Christine Flowers, M.A.
Director, Office of Communications and Public Liaison
Tel 919-541-3665
Fax 301-480-2978
bruskec@niehs.nih.gov
P.O. Box 12233
Mail Drop B2-05
Durham, N.C. 27709

Christine Bruske Flowers joined the NIEHS in 2004 as Director of the Office of Communications and Public Liaison (OCPL). She serves as the Institute's chief advisor on international protocol, community engagement, and public information sharing to build support and cooperation for institute’s mission. She leads a team of highly skilled communications, science, and policy professionals. She co-chairs the institute’s Cyberinfrastructure Leadership Committee. Ms. Flowers reports to the institute Director, Dr. Linda Birnbaum, and is the director’s primary speech writer-editor. In previous roles, Ms. Flowers led communications and outreach activities for other U.S. federal government programs including International Affairs for the Department of the Interior, and the Everglades Restoration Program for the Army Corps of Engineers. Ms. Flowers also served as Director of Communications and Legislative Affairs for the North Carolina House of Representatives, and Director of Public Relations for the U.S. House of Representatives in North Carolina's Fourth Congressional District. Ms. Flowers is a veteran of the U.S. Army Medical Specialty Corps. She holds an M.A. in Public Affairs Journalism from Regent University, and a B.S. in Biology from North Carolina State University.

Key services provided:

Communications and Public Liaison Staff

Robin Arnette, Ph.D.
Robin L. Arnette, Ph.D.
Science Editor

Tel 919-541-5143
arnetter@niehs.nih.gov
Carol Kelly
Carol B. Kelly
Managing Editor

Tel 919-541-1993
carol.kelly@nih.gov
Lenox, Kelly
Kelly L. Lenox, M.F.A.
Newsletter Editor in Chief

Tel 984-287-3281
kelly.lenox@nih.gov
Joseph D. Poccia
Joseph D. Poccia
Digital Design Manager

Tel 984-287-3305
joseph.poccia@nih.gov
Jesse Saffron
Jesse Saffron, J.D.
Technical Writer-Editor

Tel 984-287-3196
jesse.saffron@nih.gov
Devlin Sawyer
Devlin Sawyer, MBA
Administrative Technician

Tel 984-287-3776
devlin.sawyer@nih.gov
Sheena Scruggs
Sheena Scruggs, Ph.D.
Digital Content Coordinator

Tel 984-287-3355
sheena.scruggs@nih.gov
Regina Stabile
Regina J. Stabile, J.D.
FOIA Public Liaison and Privacy Act Coordinator

Tel 984-287-3324
regina.stabile@nih.gov
Ian Thomas
Ian V. Thomas
Public Information Officer

Tel 984-287-3327
ian.thomas@nih.gov
Cheryl Thompson, M.B.A.
Cheryl R. Thompson, MBA
Web Manager

Tel 984-287-3329
Fax 301-480-3250
thompsonc2@niehs.nih.gov

Science Editorial Services

Marla Broadfoot
Marla V. Broadfoot, Ph.D.
Contractor — Science Writer & Editor

Tel 919-270-8298
marla.broadfoot@nih.gov

NH conference booth
NIEHS conference booth
Back
to Top