Skip Navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.

Https

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Your Environment. Your Health.

Scientists & Staff

Immunity, Inflammation, and Disease Laboratory

Chief

Michael B. Fessler, M.D.
Michael B. Fessler, M.D.
Acting Chief, Immunity, Inflammation, and Disease Laboratory and Principal Investigator

Tel 984-287-4081
fesslerm@niehs.nih.gov

Deputy Chief

Anton M. Jetten, Ph.D.
Anton M. Jetten, Ph.D.
Deputy Chief, Immunity, Inflammation, and Disease Laboratory and Principal Investigator

Tel 984-287-4094
jetten@niehs.nih.gov

Cell Biology Group

Anton M. Jetten, Ph.D.
Anton M. Jetten, Ph.D.
Deputy Chief, Immunity, Inflammation, and Disease Laboratory and Principal Investigator

Tel 984-287-4094
jetten@niehs.nih.gov
Kilsoo Jeon, Ph.D.
Kilsoo Jeon, Ph.D.
Fellow — Visiting

Tel 984-287-3898
kilsoo.jeon@nih.gov
Hong Soon Kang, Ph.D.
Hong Soon Kang, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist

Tel 984-287-3921
Fax 919-541-4133
kang1@niehs.nih.gov
David Scoville
David W. Scoville, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA

Tel 984-287-3918
david.scoville@nih.gov
Caleb Sutherland
Caleb D. Sutherland, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA

Tel 984-287-3897
caleb.sutherland@nih.gov

Clinical Investigation of Host Defense Group

Michael B. Fessler, M.D.
Michael B. Fessler, M.D.
Acting Chief, Immunity, Inflammation, and Disease Laboratory and Principal Investigator

Tel 984-287-4081
fesslerm@niehs.nih.gov
Sierra Atwater
Sierra Atwater
Fellow — IRTA Postbaccalaureate

Tel 984-287-4259
sierra.atwater@nih.gov
Wan-Chi Lin
Wan-Chi Lin, Ph.D.
Fellow — Visiting

Tel 984-287-4251
wan-chi.lin@nih.gov
Julie Lowe, Ph.D.
Julie M. Lowe, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA

Tel 919-541-3967
julie.lowe@nih.gov
Jennifer Madenspacher
Jennifer Madenspacher
Biologist

Tel 984-287-4261
madensp1@niehs.nih.gov
Prashant Rai
Prashant Rai, Ph.D.
Fellow — Visiting

Tel 984-287-4262
prashant.rai@nih.gov

Environmental Cardiopulmonary Disease Group

Darryl Zeldin, M.D.
Darryl C. Zeldin, M.D.
Scientific Director and Principal Investigator

Tel 984-287-3641
Fax 919-541-4214
zeldin@niehs.nih.gov
J. Alyce Bradbury
Jennifer A. Bradbury
Biologist

Tel 984-287-4252
bradbur1@niehs.nih.gov
Laura Miller DeGraff
Laura Degraff
Biological Science Laboratory Technician

Tel 919-541-2193
Fax 919-541-4133
miller12@niehs.nih.gov
Not Pictured
Saurabh Dixit, Ph.D.
Contractor — Scientist

Tel 919-541-5084
saurabh.dixit@nih.gov
Matthew Edin
Matthew L. Edin, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist

Tel 919-541-0828
matthew.edin@nih.gov
Joan Graves
Joan P. Graves
Biologist

Tel 984-287-4255
graves@niehs.nih.gov
Hong Li, Ph.D.
Hong Li, Ph.D.
Biologist

Tel 919-541-0980
lih6@niehs.nih.gov
Päivi Salo, Ph.D.
Paivi M. Salo, Ph.D.
Epidemiologist

Tel 984-287-3864
paivi.salo@nih.gov

Environmental Epigenomics and Disease Group

Douglas A. Bell, Ph.D.
Douglas A. Bell, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator

Tel 984-287-3862
bell1@niehs.nih.gov
Matthew Bergens
Matthew A. Bergens
Fellow — IRTA Postbaccalaureate

Tel 984-287-3969
matthew.bergens@nih.gov
Michelle Campbell, M.S.
Michelle R. Campbell, M.S.
Biologist

Tel 984-287-3972
Fax 984-287-3972
campbel5@niehs.nih.gov
Jennifer Martinez
Suzanne N. Martos, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA

Tel 984-287-3973
suzanne.martos@nih.gov
Gary Pittman, M.S.P.H.
Gary S. Pittman, M.S.P.H.
Biologist

Tel 984-287-3970
pittman1@niehs.nih.gov
Isabel J. Thompson
Isabel J. Thompson
Fellow — IRTA Postbaccalaureate

Tel 984-287-3974
isabel.thompson@nih.gov
Xuting Wang, Ph.D.
Xuting Wang, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist

Tel 919-316-4598
Fax 919-541-7593
wang21@niehs.nih.gov
Ma Wan, M.D., Ph.D.
Ma Wan, M.D., Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA

Tel 984-287-3971
ma.wan@nih.gov

Environmental Genetics Group

Steven Kleeberger, Ph.D.
Steve Kleeberger, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator

Tel 984-287-4082
Fax 919-541-4133
kleeber1@niehs.nih.gov
Hye-Youn Cho, Ph.D.
Hye-Youn Cho, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist

Tel 984-287-4088
Fax 301-480-3977
cho2@niehs.nih.gov
Wes Gladwell
Wesley Gladwell
Senior Biologist

Tel 919-316-4696
gladwell@niehs.nih.gov
Jacqui Marzec
Jacqui Marzec
Senior Biologist, Laboratory Coordinator

Tel 984-287-4229
Fax 301-480-3735
marzec@niehs.nih.gov
Ryan Snyder
Ryan J. Snyder, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA

Tel 919-316-4836
Fax 919-541-4635
ryan.snyder@nih.gov
Heather Vellers
Heather L. Vellers, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA

Tel 919-316-4673
heather.vellers@nih.gov
Kirsten Verhein, Ph.D.
Kirsten C. Verhein, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA

Tel 919-316-4673
kirsten.verhein@nih.gov

Free Radical Metabolism Group

Ronald P. Mason, Ph.D.
Ronald P. Mason, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator

Tel 984-287-3403
mason4@niehs.nih.gov
Suchandra Bhattacharjee, Ph.D.
Suchandra Bhattacharjee, Ph.D.
Scholars Connect Program Coordinator

Tel 984-287-3778
bhattac1@niehs.nih.gov
Jean Corbett
Jean Corbett, M.S.
Chemist

Tel 984-287-3379
corbett@niehs.nih.gov
Douglas Ganini Da Silva
Douglas Ganini Da Silva, Ph.D.
Fellow — Research

Tel 984-287-3384
douglas.ganinidasilva@nih.gov
JinJie Jiang, Ph.D.
Jinjie Jiang, Ph.D.
Contractor — Scientist

Tel 919-541-0352
Fax 301-480-2986
jiang1@niehs.nih.gov
Maria Kadiiska
Maria B. Kadiiska, M.D., Ph.D.
Staff Scientist

Tel 984-287-3383
Fax 919-541-1043
kadiiska@niehs.nih.gov
Ashutosh Kumar
Ashutosh Kumar, Ph.D.
Fellow — Visiting

Tel 984-287-3380
ashutosh.kumar@nih.gov
Birandra K. Sinha, Ph.D.
Birandra K. Sinha, Ph.D.
Special Volunteer

Tel 919-541-4751
birandra.sinha@nih.gov
Thomas Van'T Erve
Thomas J. Van'T Erve, Ph.D.
Fellow — Visiting

Tel 984-287-3378
thomas.vanterve@nih.gov

Genetic Epidemiology Group

Stephanie J. London, M.D., Dr.P.H.
Stephanie J. London, M.D., Dr.P.H.
Deputy Chief, Epidemiology Branch and Senior Investigator

Tel 984-287-3688
Fax 301-480-3290
london2@niehs.nih.gov
John S. House, Ph.D.
John S. House, Ph.D.
Special Volunteer

Tel 919-541-4876
john.house@nih.gov
Huiling Li
Huiling Li
Biologist

Tel 984-287-4249
Fax 301-480-4197
li12@niehs.nih.gov
Cody Nichols
Cody E. Nichols, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA

Tel 984-287-4250
cody.nichols@nih.gov

Immunogenetics Group

Donald Cook, Ph.D.
Don Cook, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator

Tel 984-287-4245
Fax 919-541-4133
cookd@niehs.nih.gov
Priya Jayaraman, Ph.D.
Priya J. Halvorsen, Ph.D.
Fellow

Tel 919-541-1861
priya.halvorsen@nih.gov
Tadeusz Karcz, Ph.D.
Tadeusz P. Karcz, Ph.D.
Fellow

Tel 984-287-4247
tadeusz.karcz@nih.gov
Hideki Nakano, Ph.D.
Hideki Nakano, Ph.D.
Staff Scientist

Tel 984-287-4227
Fax 301-480-3798
nakanoh@niehs.nih.gov
Keiko Nakano
Keiko Nakano
Biologist

Tel 984-287-4241
keiko.nakano@nih.gov
Seddon Y. Thomas, Ph.D.
Seddon Y. Thomas, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA Postdoctoral

Tel 984-287-4242
seddon.thomas@nih.gov
Greg Whitehead, Ph.D.
Gregory S. Whitehead, M.S.
Biologist

Tel 984-287-4248
whiteheadg@niehs.nih.gov

Inflammation & Autoimmunity Group

Jennifer Martinez
Jennifer A. Martinez, Ph.D.
Principal Investigator

Tel 984-287-4089
jennifer.martinez3@nih.gov
Eui Ho Kim, Ph.D.
Eui Ho Kim, Ph.D.
Fellow — Research

Tel 984-287-4349
euiho.kim@nih.gov
Joseph P. Kolb Jr.
Joseph P. Kolb Jr, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA

Tel 984-287-4086
joseph.kolb2@nih.gov
Ginger W. Muse
Ginger Muse
Biologist

Tel 984-287-4091
museg@niehs.nih.gov
Thomas H. Oguin III, Ph.D.
Thomas H. Oguin III
Fellow — IRTA

Tel 984-287-4083
thomas.oguin@nih.gov
Payel Sil
Payel Sil, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA Postdoctoral

Tel 984-287-4092
payel.sil@nih.gov
Sing Wai Wong
Sing Wai Wong, D.D.S.
Graduate Student – GPP

Tel 919-541-2145
singwai.wong@nih.gov

Matrix Biology Group

Stavros Garantziotis, M.D.
Stavros Garantziotis, M.D.
Medical Director, NIEHS Clinical Research Unit and Principal Investigator

Tel 984-287-4412
Fax 919-541-9854
garantziotis@niehs.nih.gov
Yosuke Sakamachi
Yosuke Sakamachi, Ph.D.
Fellow — IRTA

Tel 984-287-4239
yosuke.sakamachi@nih.gov
Vandy Stober
Vandy S. Stober
Biologist

Tel 984-287-4240
parron@niehs.nih.gov
Carol Trempus
Carol S. Trempus
Biologist

Tel 984-287-4238
trempus@niehs.nih.gov
Back
to Top