Skip Navigation

Your Environment. Your Health.

Intramural Research Division

In-house, or intramural research, is done by scientists employed by the federal government who have laboratories at the NIEHS. Research conducted at the NIEHS include epidemiology, biostatistics, molecular genetics, signal transduction, reproductive and developmental toxicology, respiratory biology, molecular carcinogenesis, and other environmental research areas. Our in-house scientists collaborate extensively with partners in other institutes, agencies,and academia.

Intramural Research branches and laboratories are organized into four programs: environmental biology, environmental disease and medicine, clinical research, and environmental toxicology. Each program has a director or associate director, who is responsible for assisting and advising the Scientific Director in the overall scientific leadership of the Division.  

Scientific Director

 The National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS) Office of the Scientific Director (OSD) is the administrative arm of the Intramural Research Division. The OSD fosters and maintains a productive research environment through the effective management, coordination, and prioritization Division activities. This is accomplished by providing overall scientific leadership and by overseeing activities that are central to the successful day-to-day operation of the NIEHS Intramural Research Program.


In conjunction with the NIEHS Board of Scientific Counselors ("/Rhythmyx/assembler/render?sys_contentid=1720&sys_revision=12&sys_variantid=639&sys_context=0&sys_authtype=0&sys_siteid=&sys_folderid=" sys_dependentvariantid="639" sys_dependentid="1720" inlinetype="rxhyperlink" rxinlineslot="103" sys_dependentid="1720" sys_siteid="" sys_folderid=""), the OSD has the primary responsibility for performing regular external reviews of all DIR research programs, ensuring their continued high quality and relevance. The OSD staff, in particular the Scientific Director and Deputy Scientific Directors, serve important liaison roles between NIEHS and other National Institutes of Health (NIH) components by representing the Institute on various NIH-wide committees.


Finally, the OSD promotes activities intended to increase interactions among its scientific staff, through seminar series, retreats, and other programs such as the annual Science Awards Day, which are intended to highlight the Institute's investigators and their research.


Darryl Zeldin, M.D.
Darryl C. Zeldin, M.D.
Scientific Director and Principal Investigator
Tel (919) 541-1169
Fax (919) 541-4214
P.O. Box 12233
Mail Drop A2-05
Research Triangle Park, North Carolina 27709
Delivery Instructions


Darryl C. Zeldin, M.D., is Scientific Director and head of the Environmental Cardiopulmonary Disease Group in the Laboratory of Respiratory Biology. He earned a B.A. in chemistry from Boston University in 1982 and an M.D. from Indiana University School of Medicine in 1986. He completed a Residency in Internal Medicine at Duke University in 1989 and a Fellowship in Pulmonary/Critical Care Medicine at Vanderbilt University in 1993.


Zeldin is a physician-scientist who is internationally recognized for his contributions to the fields of environmental health, respiratory disease and cardiovascular disease. He is a member of the American Society for Clinical Investigation (ASCI), a Fellow in the American College of Chest Physicians and a Fellow in the American Heart Association. He has also served on NIH and foundation study sections and is a member of the editorial boards of several scientific journals. Zeldin has published over 200 peer-reviewed articles in leading biomedical journals as well as numerous reviews and book chapters. In addition, Zeldin is on staff at Duke University Medical Center, where he serves as a member of the pulmonary consult service and the medical intensive care unit.

Back to top Back to top

Division Organizational Chart 

Office of the Director NIEHS & NTP (


Intramural Research Division (


Environmental Biology Program


Environmental Diseases & Medicine Program


Clinical Research Program (


Environmental Toxicology Program


Laboratory of Molecular Genetics (

Laboratory of Structural Biology (

Laboratory of Signal Transduction (

Laboratory of Neurobiology (

Laboratory of Molecular Carcinogenesis (

Laboratory of Reproductive & Developmental Toxicology (

Comparative Medicine Branch

Epidemiology Branch (

Laboratory of Respiratory Biology (

Biostatistics Branch (

Office of Clinical Research (

Laboratory of Toxicology & Pharmacology (

Back to top Back to top


Scientific and Support Staff

William T. Schrader, Ph.D.
William T. Schrader, Ph.D.
Deputy Scientific Director

Tel (919) 541-3433
Fax (919) 541-5465
Joel Abramowitz, Ph.D.
Joel Abramowitz, Ph.D.
Special Assistant

Tel (919) 541-4892
Fax (919) 541-4214
Elizabeth M. Denholm, Ph.D.
Elizabeth M. Denholm
Director, Office of Technology Transfer

Tel (919) 541-0981
Barbara Dietz
Barbara D. Dietz
Administrative Specialist

Tel (919) 541-3206
Fax (919) 541-5465
Vickie Englebright
Vickie Englebright
Administrative Coordination Specialist

Tel (919) 541-3337
David Fargo
David Fargo, Ph.D.
Bioinformatics Scientist

Tel (919) 541-0762
Lawrence Lazarus, Ph.D.
Lawrence Lazarus, Ph.D.
Retired - Special Volunteer

Tel (919) 541-3238
Fax (919) 541-5737
Michael Spencer
Michael S. Spencer
Administrative Coordination Specialist

Tel (919) 541-1168
Not Pictured
Deborah L. Wilson
Coordinator, Summer Internship Program

Tel (919) 541-3205

Back to top Back to top

Back to Top