Skip Navigation

Your Environment. Your Health.

Communications & Public Liaison

The Office of Communications & Public Liaison is the first source of news and information about the National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences (NIEHS), and the Institute's important biomedical research and funding programs. The communications team handles media requests, inquiries from the scientific community, as well as internal communication activities. News releases, Brochures & Fact Sheets and science education materials, videos, web pages, exhibits, tours and presentations are available from the OCPL resources and staff.

Key services provided:

Christine Bruske Flowers
Christine Flowers, M.P.A.
Director, Office of Communications & Public Liaison
Tel (919) 541-3665
Fax (301) 480-2978
bruskec@niehs.nih.gov
P.O. Box 12233
Mail Drop B2-02
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709

Delivery | Postal
Delivery Instructions

Christine Bruske Flowers joined the NIEHS in 2004. Previously she led communications and outreach activities for other federal government programs including the U.S. Department of the Interior International Affairs Program, and the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers environmental restoration programs. Flowers also served as Director of Communications and Legislative Affairs for the North Carolina House of Representatives, and Director of Public Relations for the U.S. House of Representatives in North Carolina's Fourth Congressional District. Flowers is a veteran of the U.S. Army Medical Specialty Corps. She holds an M.A. in Public Affairs Journalism from Regent University and a B.S. in Biology from North Carolina State University.

 

Communications and Public Liaison Staff

News Media Relations

Robin Mackar, M.P.H.
Robin Mackar, M.P.H.
News Director
Tel (919) 541-0073
Fax (301) 480-3226
rmackar@niehs.nih.gov
P.O. Box 12233
Mail Drop K3-16
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709

Delivery | Postal
Delivery Instructions
Joe Balintfy
Joe Balintfy
Public Affairs Specialist

Tel (919) 541-1993
joe.balintfy@nih.gov

Public Information, Education and Outreach

Ian Thomas
Ian V. Thomas
Public Affairs Specialist

Tel (919) 541-4794
ian.thomas@nih.gov

Web Manager

Cheryl Thompson, M.B.A.
Cheryl R. Thompson, M.B.A.
Web Manager

Tel (919) 541-1072
Fax (301) 480-3250
thompsonc2@niehs.nih.gov

Joseph D. Poccia
Joseph D. Poccia
Web Information Development Specialist

Tel (919) 541-7860
joseph.poccia@nih.gov

Newsletter Editor

Lenox, Kelly
Kelly L. Lenox, M.F.A.
Writer Editor

Tel (919) 541-0222
kelly.lenox@nih.gov

Ralph Ball
Eddy Ball, Ph.D.
Contractor – Writer

Tel (919) 541-4816
ballr@niehs.nih.gov

Science Writer/Editor

Robin Arnette, Ph.D.
Robin L. Arnette, Ph.D.
Science Editor
Tel (919) 541-5143
arnetter@niehs.nih.gov
P.O. Box 12233
Mail Drop K3-16
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709

Delivery | Postal
Delivery Instructions

Program Support

Anne Thompson
Anne M. Thompson
Program Support

Tel (919) 316-4517
thomps13@niehs.nih.gov

Program Specialist

Allison Ashley
Allison Ashley
Program Specialist
Tel (919) 541-0378
allison.ashley@nih.gov
P.O. Box 12233
Mail Drop B2-03
Research Triangle Park, North Carolina 27709
Delivery Instructions

Freedom of Information Act/Privacy Act

Pat Stockton
Pat Stockton
Freedom of Information Act

Tel (919) 541-3411
stockton@niehs.nih.gov

Written Inquiries

National Institute of Environmental Health Sciences
P.O. Box 12233, MD K3-16
Research Triangle Park, North Carolina 27709-2233
Fax (919) 541-4395

Back to Top

Share This Page:

Page Options:

Request Translation Services