DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH AND HUMAN SERVICES NATIONAL INSTITUTES OF HEALTH NATIONAL INSTITUTE OF ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SCIENCES

MEETING SUMMARY OF THE NATIONAL ADVISORY ENVIRONMENTAL HEALTH SCIENCES COUNCIL

April 22, 2025

The 174th meeting of the National Advisory Environmental Health Sciences Council convened on April 22, 2025, as the February Council meeting. There was no open session. Closed session took place from 9:00 am to 9:37 am on April 22, 2025. Dr. Richard Woychik, Director, NIEHS, presided as chair. The meeting was virtual; all participants attended via MS Teams.

Participating Council Members

Stephania Cormier, PhD
Olivier Deschenes, PhD
John Timothy Greenamyre, PhD
Annette Guiseppi-Elie, PhD (ex officio)
Andrij Holian, PhD
Darryl Hood, PhD
Keri Hornbuckle, PhD
Cathrine Hoyo, PhD
Jani Ingram, PhD
Gary Miller, PhD
Gokhan Mutlu, MD
Maria Savasta-Kennedy, JD

NIEHS Staff

Kathy Ahlmark
Jennifer Baker
David Balshaw, PhD
Valerie Bartlett
Sharon Beard, MS
Tiffany Bowen
Abee Boyles, PhD
Michelle Campbell, MB
Toccara Chamberlain, MA
Jennifer Collins
Yuxia Cui, PhD
Christopher Duncan, PhD
Anika Dzierlenga, PhD

Murali Ganesan, PhD Nicole Garbarini, PhD Amanda Garton, MSPP Kimberly Gray, PhD Jenny Greer Michelle Heacock, PhD Jonathan Hollander, PhD Michael Humble, PhD Bonnie Joubert, PhD Kaitlyn Lawrence, PhD Ann Liu, PhD Rebecca Mao, PhD Jacqueline Marzec, MS Nathan Mitchiner Srikanth Nadadur, PhD Liam O'Fallon, MA Heather Patisaul, PhD Amelia Pearson, MHR Eric Persaud, PhD Ashlinn Quinn, PhD Lingamanaidu Ravichandran, PhD Christopher Schnur Thaddeus Schug, PhD Daniel Shaughnessy, PhD Carol Shreffler, PhD Varsha Shukla, PhD Claudia Thompson, PhD Brittany Trottier, PhD Frederick Tyson, PhD Ashley Vargas, PhD Leroy Worth, PhD Richard Woychik, PhD Alicia Zorn

In accordance with the provisions set forth in Section 552b(c)(4) and 552b(c)(6), Title 5, U.S. Code and Section 10(d) of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, as amended (5 U.S.C. Appendix 2), the meeting was closed to the public on April 22, 2025, from 9:00 am to 9:37 am for consideration of grant applications. Notice of the meeting was published in the *Federal Register*. Dr. Richard Woychik presided as Chair.

Call To Order and Opening Remarks, Review of Confidentiality and Conflict of Interest

NIEHS and NTP Director Dr. Richard Woychik, welcomed attendees and called the meeting to order. DERT Director Dr. David Balshaw went over some of the logistics for the meeting and read the conflict-of-interest statement. Council member Dr. Patricia Henderson was unable to attend.

CLOSED SESSION

This portion of the meeting was closed to the public in accordance with the determination that it concerned matters exempt from mandatory disclosures under Sections Section 552b(c)(4) and 552b(c)(6), Title 5, U.S. Code and Section 10(d) of the Federal Advisory Committee Act, as amended.

REVIEW OF APPLICATIONS

The session included a discussion of procedures and policies regarding voting and confidentiality of application materials, committee discussions and recommendations. Members absented themselves from the meeting during the discussion of, and voting on, applications from their own institutions or other applications in which there was a potential conflict of interest, real or apparent. Members were asked to sign a statement to this effect. The Council considered and recommended 324 applications requesting \$239,765,430.00 in total costs. For the record, it is noted that secondary applications were also considered en bloc.

Adjournment

Health Sciences Council

Dr. David Balshaw thanked the Council members for their work on the meeting, and all attendees for their participation. Dr. Richard Woychik, as chair adjourned the closed session at 9:37 am, April 22, 2025.

CERTIFICATION:	
Richard Woychik, PhD Chairperson National Advisory Environmental	David Balshaw, PhD Executive Secretary National Advisory Environmental

Health Sciences Council