Skip Navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.

Https

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Your Environment. Your Health.

Scientific Review Branch

Alfonso R. Latoni
Alfonso R. Latoni, Ph.D.
Branch Chief
Tel 984-287-3279
Fax 301-480-3704
alfonso.latoni@nih.gov
P.O. Box 12233
Mail Drop K3-03
Durham, N.C. 27709

About SRB

The Scientific Review Branch (SRB) is responsible for the initial scientific and technical merit review of grant applications and contract proposals submitted to the NIH. The scientific review officers (SROs), formerly scientific review administrators, are extramural staff scientists and the designated federal official play a pivotal role in identifying the most meritorious scientific research for support using federal resources. The SRO is responsible for ensuring that each application, and research and development proposal, submitted to SRB receives an objective and fair initial peer review, and that all applicable laws, regulations, and policies are followed.

Staff

Janice Allen
Janice B. Allen, Ph.D.
Scientific Review Officer

Tel 984-287-3232
Fax 301-480-3705
allen9@niehs.nih.gov
Linda Bass
Linda K. Bass, Ph.D.
Scientific Review Officer

Tel 984-287-3236
Fax 919-316-4606
bass@niehs.nih.gov
Deborah Jones
Deborah A. Jones
Extramural Support Assistant

Tel 984-287-3275
jonesdebo@mail.nih.gov
Not Pictured
Kindra D. Morrison
Extramural Support Assistant

Tel 984-287-3295
kindra.morrison@nih.gov
Sharmice Outen
Sharmice L. Outen
Extramural Support Assistant

Tel 984-287-3299
sharmice.outen@nih.gov
Varsha Shukla
Varsha Shukla, Ph.D.
Scientific Review Officer

Tel 984-287-3288
varsha.shukla@nih.gov
Laura Thomas, Ph.D.
Laura A. Thomas, Ph.D.
Scientific Review Officer

Tel 984-287-3328
laura.thomas@nih.gov
Leroy Worth
Leroy Worth Jr, Ph.D.
Scientific Review Officer

Tel 984-287-3340
Fax 301-480-3722
worth@niehs.nih.gov
Back
to Top