Skip Navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Internet Explorer is no longer a supported browser.

This website may not display properly with Internet Explorer. For the best experience, please use a more recent browser such as the latest versions of Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, and/or Mozilla Firefox. Thank you.

Your Environment. Your Health.

EPA Adds Nine New Sites to National Priorities List

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced that it is adding nine new hazardous waste sites that pose risks to people’s health and the environment to the National Priorities List (NPL) of Superfund sites. The sites are located across seven states and include a former pulp and paper mill, former paint manufacturer, former chemical transportation business, and former zinc smelter.  Some of the major contaminants of concern include metals, polychlorinated biphenyls (PCBs), trichloroethylene (TCE), tetrachloroethylene (PCE), and pesticides.

As with all NPL sites, the EPA first works to identify companies or people responsible for the contamination at a site, and requires them to conduct or pay for the cleanup. For the newly listed sites without viable potentially responsible parties, EPA will investigate the full extent of the contamination before starting significant cleanup at the site.

For more information, visit the EPA Website .

to Top