Skip Navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Internet Explorer is no longer a supported browser.

This website may not display properly with Internet Explorer. For the best experience, please use a more recent browser such as the latest versions of Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, and/or Mozilla Firefox. Thank you.

Your Environment. Your Health.

EPA Adds Nine Hazardous Waste Sites to National Priorities List

The U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) announced that it is adding nine hazardous waste sites to the National Priorities List (NPL) of Superfund sites. Superfund is the federal program that investigates and cleans up the most complex, uncontrolled, or abandoned hazardous waste sites in the country to protect people’s health and the environment.

The nine new sites include a hazardous waste dump, a former fabric mill, a former automotive rubber manufacturer, a former oil refinery, a former uranium mine, and groundwater plumes. The sites are in Indiana, North Carolina, New Hampshire, New Mexico, Oklahoma, and Washington.

The EPA is also proposing to add an additional eight sites to the list.

Since 1983, EPA has listed 1,694 sites on the NPL. At 68 percent of NPL sites, all cleanup remedies are in place. Approximately 38 percent of NPL sites have all necessary long-term protections in place, which means EPA considers the sites protective for redevelopment or reuse.

to Top