Skip Navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.


The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Internet Explorer is no longer a supported browser.

This website may not display properly with Internet Explorer. For the best experience, please use a more recent browser such as the latest versions of Google Chrome, Microsoft Edge, and/or Mozilla Firefox. Thank you.

Your Environment. Your Health.

2013 Annual Meeting Celebrates Research Trainees

Hammond (right) with LSU SRP Training Core leader Robin McCarley

Hammond (right) with LSU SRP Training Core leader Robin McCarley, who presented Hammond with her award
(Photo courtesy of Kelli Palmer, LSU SRP)

The annual meeting of the NIEHS Superfund Research Program (SRP) Oct. 15-17 in Baton Rouge, Louisiana was an occasion to highlight trainee accomplishments. The meeting, which attracted researchers and trainees from across the nation, was hosted by SRP grantees at Louisiana State University.

Along with the traditional presentations and plenary sessions, the meeting set aside time for celebrating award-winning students.

The 2013 winner of the coveted Karen Wetterhahn Memorial Award, Corin Hammond, a Ph.D. candidate at the University of Arizona, traveled back to her undergraduate alma mater of LSU to accept the award. During her talk, she explained her research on phytoremediation of mine wastes in semi-arid environments. Hammond is the sixteenth SRP trainee to receive this award.

As part of the meeting, five trainees were presented with the 2013 KC Donnelly Externship Award, an honorary award in memory of KC Donnelly, Ph.D. The award winners, Audrey Bone (Duke University), Leah Chibwe (Oregon State University), Shohreh Farzan (Dartmouth College), Erin Madeen (Oregon State University), and James Rice (Brown University), will have the opportunity to enrich their research in environmental health science at another institution for up to three months. For more information about the awardees, visit the KC Donnelly 2013 winners website.

Some of the KC Donnelly Externship awardees and Poster winners pose for a photo at the 2013 Annual Meeting

Some of the KC Donnelly Externship awardees and Poster winners pose for a photo at the 2013 Annual Meeting. From left to right: Minghui Gui, Jing Sun, Leah Chibwe, Peter Wagner, Shohreh Farzan, Fabian Grimm, and James Rice.
(Photo courtesy of Kelli Palmer, LSU SRP)

Six trainees received awards for their poster presented in the trainee poster session Wednesday evening. The session featured 79 posters from SRP trainees. There were three winners in both the biomedical and non-biomedical categories.

Non-Biomedical poster session:
1st place: Jing Sun, Columbia University
“Arsenic In-Situ Immobilization by Magnetite Formation within Contaminated Aquifer Sediments”

2nd place: Leslie Knecht, University of Miami
“Sensing Environmental Contaminants with Paper-Based Platforms”

3rd place: Minghui Gui, University of Kentucky
“Chloro-Organic Detoxification by Membrane Supported Iron-Iron Oxide System”

Biomedical poster session:
1st place: Daniel Gusenleitner, Boston University
“Rodent-based Toxicogenomic Models of Hepatocarcinogenicity”

2nd place: Fabian Grimm, University of Iowa
“High Affinity Interactions between Human Transerythin and Polychlorinated Bipheny Sulfates – Implications for Thyroid Hormone Disruption and the Inhibition of Transerythin Amyloidosis”

3rd place: Peter Wagner, Harvard University
“New Insights into the Molecular Mechanisms of Lead Neurotoxicity”

to Top