Skip Navigation
U.S. flag

An official website of the United States government

Dot gov

The .gov means it’s official.
Federal government websites often end in .gov or .mil. Before sharing sensitive information, make sure you’re on a federal government site.

Https

The site is secure.
The https:// ensures that you are connecting to the official website and that any information you provide is encrypted and transmitted securely.

Your Environment. Your Health.

Office of Data Science

We provide guidance and strategies in the acquisition, development, and deployment of scientific data and knowledge management solutions at NIEHS.

Mission Statement

The mission of the Office of Data Science is to accelerate scientific discovery, foster collaborative research, and ultimately improve public health through the application of scientific data and knowledge management in the environmental health sciences.
Stephanie Holmgren, MLIS, MBA
Stephanie D. Holmgren, M.S.L.S., MBA
Acting Director, Office of Data Science
Tel 984-287-3139
holmgre1@niehs.nih.gov
P.O. Box 12233
Mail Drop K2-15
Durham, N.C. 27709

Data Science and Data Management Program

  • Develop and implement data science training opportunities
  • Enhance researcher’s ability to find, access, interoperate, and reuse data
  • Develop and support policies and standards for data integration and harmonization
  • Facilitate transformation of data and information into user-friendly knowledge-based platforms
  • Represent NIEHS in trans-NIH and interagency data science and knowledge management activities
Charles Schmitt
Charles S. Schmitt, Ph.D.
Contractor — Senior Adviser
Tel 984-287-3181
charles.schmitt@nih.gov
P.O. Box 12233
Mail Drop K2-02
Durham, N.C. 27709
Maria Shatz
Maria Shatz, Ph.D.
Contractor — Scientific Program Manager
Tel 984-287-3184
maria.shatz@nih.gov
P.O. Box 12233
Mail Drop K2-15
Durham, N.C. 27709
Mike Conway
Mike C. Conway
Contractor — Data Systems Architect/Engineer
Tel 984-287-3122
mike.conway@nih.gov
530 Davis Dr
Keystone Building
Durham, NC 27713
Resham Kulkarni
Resham Kulkarni, Ph.D.
Contractor — Data Curation Specialist
Tel 984-287-3151
resham.kulkarni@nih.gov
530 Davis Dr
Keystone Building
Durham, NC 27713
Sue Nolte
Sue Z. Nolte
Contractor — Software Developer
Tel 984-287-3168
sue.nolte@nih.gov
530 Davis Dr
Keystone Building
Durham, NC 27713
Deep Patel
Deep S. Patel
Contractor — Software Developer
Tel 984-287-3170
deep.patel@nih.gov
530 Davis Dr
Keystone Building
Durham, NC 27713
Trey O. Saddler
Trey O. Saddler
Contractor — Data Scientist
Tel 984-287-3180
trey.saddler@nih.gov
P.O. Box 12233
Mail Drop K2-17
Durham, N.C. 27709
Back
to Top