skip navigation
Environmental Factor, October 2012

Whole Issue PDF
This issue's PDF is still being created and should be available 3-5 business days after the first of the month. Please check back in a few days.

NIEHS honors dedication and longevity

By Eddy Ball

Jack Bishop and Linda Birnbaum

A beaming Bishop, left, received his retirement plaque from Birnbaum. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Madhumita Ray and Linda Birnbaum

Madhumita Ray was recognized for 10 years of federal service. Ray is a biologist with the Laboratory of Molecular Genetics. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Dudley Riner and Linda Birnbaum

Recognized for 20 years of service, Dudley Riner is a member of the Financial Management Branch. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

VeeVee Shropshire and Linda Birnbaum

Health and Safety Branch team member VeeVee Shropshire showed off her winning smile, as she received the plaque honoring her 30 years of government service. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Vickie Englebright and Linda Birnbaum

Vickie Englebright was one of just five employees celebrating their 40th year of service. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

John Bucher, Ph.D., Gwen Collman, Ph.D., and Rob Levine

Members of leadership turned out to show their appreciation for dedication and longevity, by working the refreshment serving line. NTP Associate Director John Bucher, Ph.D., left, and Division of Extramural Research and Training Director Gwen Collman, Ph.D., poured punch, as Rob Levine, right, filled his plate. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Continuing a long-standing tradition, NIEHS honored employees for their decades of service during a Sept. 13 ceremony. As in previous years, employees enjoyed refreshments served by members of the NIEHS leadership, in a reception following the presentation of plaques in Rodbell Auditorium.

Director Linda Birnbaum, Ph.D., spoke briefly, before turning over the podium to Associate Director for Management Joellen Austin. “I think there’s a certain idealism for those of us who work in the government and stay in the government,” Birnbaum told the audience. “We like being responsible to the taxpayer and the American public. … We’re really here to recognize those of us who have logged a lot of time in federal service.”

Birnbaum, herself a 33-year veteran of federal service, noted that NIEHS was recognizing a collective total of 1,100 years of service with the awards. “When we work for the government, we know we’re really working for the American people,” she said.

Appropriately enough for a celebration of dedication and longevity, the presentation of awards began and ended with the recognition of NTP geneticist Jack Bishop, Ph.D. Bishop was the sole retiree in attendance and one of three 40-year veterans in attendance.

In 2009, Birnbaum began a new tradition by establishing a separate ceremony specifically to honor longevity of service.


10 Years
Judy BartzMarilyn Diaz
Sally Eckert-TilottaPaul Foster
Dagoberto GrenetMichael Humble
Anna JansenMelissa Jones
Steven KleebergerElizabeth McNair
Theodore OutwaterMadhumita Ray
Manas RayTroy Simpson
Jason StankoMarva Wood


20 Years
Lisa EdwardsSusan Hart
Denise LaskoBeth Ragan
Yvette RebollosoDudley Riner
Tonya StonhamTatsuya Sueyoshi
Gregory TravlosCarol Trempus
David UmbachRichard Weaver
Belinda Wilson 


30 Years
Lois AnnabAlma Britton
Alan ClarkDebra Del Corral
Rachel FrawleyHarvey Gates
Margaret GeorgeCynthia Innes
Thomas KunkelPatricia Lamb
Christopher LeeJames McDonough
Connie RileyMargarita Roque
Valeria ShropshireJames Westmoreland


40 Years
Jack BishopVickie Englebright
Jennie FousheeEugenia Goulding
Sharon Soward 


Jack BishopPo Chuen Chan
Joyce DayeGregg Dinse
John DrakeFranklin Johnson
Elizabeth KenningtonJo Ann Lewis
James MasonMary Myers
Judy PalmerLee Pedersen
John PetersonSharyn Rigsbee
Joseph RoycroftMichael Shelby
Julius ThigpenKenneth Tomer

Troy Simpson and Dona McNeill

Along with his plaque, 10-year veteran Troy Simpson, left, received best wishes from colleague Dona McNeill. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Margaret George, Lois Annab, VeeVee Shropshire, Alma Britton, and Dagoberto Grenet

This group of awardees represented a combined total of 130 years of service. Shown, left to right, are Margaret George, Lois Annab, Shropshire, Alma Britton, and Dagoberto Grenet. (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

"Feds Feed Families drive ..." - previous story Previous story Next story next story - "Return to Index..."
October 2012 Cover Page

Back to top Back to top