Environmental Factor

April 2011

Your Online Source for NIEHS News

Increase text size Decrease text size

Trainees honored for scholarship and service at SOT

By Eddy Ball
April 2011

Xiaoqing Chang, Ph.D.

Xiaoqing Chang (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Saurabh Chatterjee, Ph.D.

Saurabh Chatterjee (Photo courtesy of Saurabh Chatterjee)

Minerva Mercado-Feliciano, Ph.D.

Minerva Mercado-Feliciano (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Zhengyu Yin, Ph.D.

Zhengyu Yin (Photo courtesy of Steve McCaw)

Four NIEHS/NTP trainees returned home from the 50th anniversary meeting of the Society of Toxicology (SOT) with honors for their exceptional scholarship and service to the field of toxicology.

In addition to Zhengyu Yin, Ph.D., a visiting fellow in the NIEHS Cell Biology Group whose SOT Carcinogenesis Specialty Section Postdoctoral Fellowship Award was announced last month (see story(http://www.niehs.nih.gov/news/newsletter/2011/march/spotlight-trainees/)), the following trainees also received 2011 awards from SOT Specialty Sections and Special Interest Groups:

  • Xiaoqing Chang, Ph.D., a visiting fellow in the NTP Biomolecular Screening Branch (http://www.niehs.nih.gov/research/atniehs/labs/bmsb)headed by Raymond Tice, Ph.D., won the Nanotoxicology Specialty Section(https://www.toxicology.org/groups/ss/nano/index.asp) Exit NIEHS Outstanding Postdoc Award for her abstract, "A physiologically based pharmacokinetic (PBPK) model of micro- and nano-sized fluorescent polystyrene spheres in rats." Co-authors on the study include her first mentor at NIEHS, former Special Advisor Chris Portier, Ph.D., and NTP scientist Nigel Walker, Ph.D. Her current mentor in the NTP is Michael DeVito, Ph.D., who nominated Chang for her award.

    According to Chang, the model adequately describes the kinetics of both micro and nano polystyrene spheres and clearly demonstrates that the size of these particles influenced their kinetics. This research provides a general framework for elucidating the kinetics of nanoparticles and should greatly enhance understanding of nanotoxicity and improve risk assessment of nanotechnology in the near future.
  • Saurabh Chatterjee, Ph.D., visiting fellow in the NIEHS Free Radical Metabolism Group headed by Principal Investigator Ron Mason, Ph.D., won the Young Investigator Endowment Award from the Association of Scientists of Indian Origin(http://asioa.org/) Exit NIEHS Special Interest Group for his abstract, "Synergism of leptin signaling and post-translational protein oxidation in bromodichloromethane exposure is key to the development of steatohepatitis [inflammation of liver] of obesity."

    Chatterjee's research is related to the mechanisms of potentiation of hepatotoxicity of a disinfection byproduct of drinking water in obese mice. He is investigating the role of reductive free radical formation that happens when some toxins are metabolized within the liver by cytochrome P-450 to trigger an inflammatory cascade, resulting in progression from fat accumulation to steatohepatitis and other complications.
  • Minerva Mercado-Feliciano, Ph.D. an Intramural Research Training Award fellow in the NTP Toxicology Branch headed by Paul Foster, Ph.D., was presented with an award for outstanding service by the Hispanic Organization of Toxicology (HOT)(http://www.toxicology.org/groups/sig/hot/) Exit NIEHS Special Interest Group. She was recognized for her contributions as editor of the official SOT-HOT newsletter, Toxenlaces, which began publication in 2009.

    Toxenlaces(http://www.toxicology.org/groups/sig/hot/newsLetter.asp) Exit NIEHS provides Hispanic toxicologists in the United States and the international Spanish and Portuguese-speaking scientific communities with information about important toxicological events and issues occurring in their countries. The newsletter serves as toxicology forum and disseminates critical dates for events, health perspectives, and funding and training opportunities.

"Microglia: A complex resident..." - previous story Previous story Next story next story - "Research fellow shines at..."
April 2011 Cover Page

Back to top Back to top