Return to NIEHS | Current Issue
Increase text size Decrease text size

EPA Leadership Development Participants Visit NIEHS

By Dona McNeill
March 2010

EPA logo A delegation of U.S. Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) leaders-in-training joined NIEHS/NTP Director Linda Birnbaum, Ph.D., and members of her senior staff on Jan. 12 in Rodbell Auditorium for a presentation about NIEHS - its mission, current projects, and plans for the future. The guests included eleven inaugural members of the EPA Senior Leadership Development Program (SLDP) and three members of the program's staff.

In her opening remarks (see video ( (MP4, 2.7 MB)), Birnbaum emphasized opportunities for expanding collaborations between NIEHS and EPA locally and nationwide. She also told the visitors that she and her staff were eager to learn more about SLDP because of plans to develop a leadership program at NIEHS.

The SLDP trainees work for the agency's Office of Research and Development (ORD)( Exit NIEHS and represent branches throughout the United States. They are engaged in a very personalized series of developmental activities based on the results of competency assessments scored to the U.S. Office of Personnel Management's Executive Core Qualifications (ECQs) for senior level executives.

Participants spend time on Capitol Hill learning from those who deal with the EPA appropriation. As part of their training, they take on rotational assignments and receive mentoring from retired senior executive service staff.

On hand to greet the visitors and explain their respective roles at NIEHS were Deputy Ethics Counselor Bruce Androphy, NTP Associate Director John Bucher, Extramural Division Interim Director Gwen Collman, Communications Director Christine Flowers, Executive Officer Marc Hollander, Policy Director Shelia Newton, Acting Scientific Director John Pritchard, and Acting Clinical Director Darryl Zeldin.

Making up the EPA visitors' group were SLDP participants Amy Battaglia, Kevin Crofton, Alva Daniels, Hiba Ernst, Lynn Flowers, Jeff Frithsen, Tim Gleason, Roy Haught, Alan Lindquist, Robert Puls, and Tim Watkins. Accompanying the trainees were program advisors Tom Voltagio and Dave O'Connor and program coordinator Chris Zarba.

(Dona McNeill is manager of NIEHS Employee Services.)

"NIEHS Celebrates Culture..." - previous story Previous story Next story next story - "Future PIs Wow NIEHS Judges..."
March 2010 Cover Page

Back to top Back to top