Your Environment. Your Health.

Skip Navigation

Population Health Branch (PHB)

Claudia Thompson
Claudia L. Thompson, Ph.D.
Branch Chief

Tel (919) 541-4638
Fax (919) 541-4937
thomps14@niehs.nih.gov

About PHB

The Population Health Branch (PHB) supports diverse programs in population-based, laboratory-based, and community-engaged research related to environmental exposures and their effects on human health. Our goal is to stimulate translation of basic findings into public health and clinical intervention and prevention strategies. Our portfolio includes:

  • Epidemiological studies to examine individual and population susceptibility as broadly determined by environmental, genetic, behavioral and sociocultural factors.
  • Animal and cell-based studies to understand how timing of environmental exposures effects health outcomes.
  • Community-based research as it relates to environmental health disparities, environmental justice, and multi-directional communication.

The PHB programs align broadly with the following NIEHS strategic plan goals: 

  • Goal 2: Susceptibility across the Lifespan
  • Goal 6: Environmental Health Disparities
  • Goal 11: Communication

Associated Programs

Staff

Not Pictured
Martha Barnes
Program Analyst

Tel (919) 541-3336
Fax (301) 480-3142
barnes@niehs.nih.gov
Caroline Dilworth, Ph.D.
Caroline Dilworth, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Tel (919) 541-7727
Fax (919) 316-4606
dilworthch@niehs.nih.gov
Symma Finn, Ph.D.
Symma Finn, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Tel (919) 541-4258
finns@niehs.nih.gov
Kimberly Ann Gray
Kimberly Ann Gray, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Tel (919) 541-0293
Fax (919) 316-4606
gray6@niehs.nih.gov
Jerrold Heindel
Jerrold (Jerry) Heindel, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Tel (919) 541-0781
Fax (919) 541-0462
heindelj@niehs.nih.gov
Liam R. O'Fallon
Liam R. O'Fallon, M.A.
Program Analyst

Tel (919) 541-7733
Fax (919) 316-4606
ofallon@niehs.nih.gov
Thaddeus Schug, Ph.D.
Thaddeus (Thad) Schug, Ph.D.
Health Scientist Administrator

Tel (919) 541-9469
Fax (919) 541-5054
schugt@niehs.nih.gov
David W. Kinnamont
David W. Kinnamont
Extramural Support Assistant

Tel (919) 541-3254
Fax (919) 480-3443
david.kinnamont@nih.gov

Back to Top